Brussel Sprouts With a Twist

If my memory isn’t totally failing me, I don’t think my Mom made brussel sprouts too often. She was probably sheltering me just so I would adore them so in my adult life. I know alot of people who say they hated them growing up. Yeah that’s it, good job Mom. This simple recipe is absolutely delicious and has me sold on these little balls of healthiness. Enjoy!

Honey & Balsamic Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients:
1 lb of raw brussel sprouts
1 tbsp honey
Balsamic vinaigrette
Extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt
Fresh ground pepper
Directions:
Preheat oven to 375. Cut off the bottom of each sprout (removing any stem) then cut in half. Place in a bowl and toss with all ingredients. I didn’t put measurements because it should be based on your preference. I usually just drizzle a little oil over them, then the same with the vinaigrette. Varies on how many brussels you are using…but the trick is not to douse them them completely because once you stir them up, the O&V spreads pretty easily. Salt and pepper is to taste.

Place and arrange all brussel sprouts face down on an ungreased cookie sheet and place in the oven for 15 minutes.

Turn down oven to 350 and remove tray and flip them over to cut side up. Place back in oven for 15 more minutes. Remove from tray immeidiately and serve. They may get a little crispy/blackish on the top but don’t worry thats normal. Mine came out extra crispy this time but they have a grilled feel to them and the honey/balsamic mixture is so yum.

Ignore my equally appetizing dinner items (Maple Dijion Swordfish – ehh, we are not swordfish fans, Trader Joe’s Quinoa & Cous Cous mix – yes yes!! and a kiwi for dessert).
However, the maple dijion marinade sauce was excellent. Try it here – Maple Marinade Recipe

One thought on “Brussel Sprouts With a Twist

  1. Pingback: Fruit and Veg of the Month: Orange and Kale «

Leave a comment